Science says this song can calm you within minutes

Because music can be medicine

Music is one of the most important parts of my life because I can’t remember a day when I didn’t listen to music. Music brings people together while we dance and rejoice. We turn to it when we feel sad, or listening to certain songs can transport us to a happier place.

Do you sometimes get goosebumps when you listen to some songs? That phenomenon is called frisson. It’s a psychophysiological response to stimuli when it feels good, and we notice a physical response to it. I often feel it when I listen to songs by Odesza.

Music is often used in hospitals to calm and heal people because it has the power to reduce stress. After all, music is medicine. Music therapy can help improve invasive procedures, reduce side effects of cancer therapy, and improve the quality of life for dementia patients (via Harvard Health Publishing).

When I feel stressed or overwhelmed, I listen to this song, and I can feel anxiety leaving my body slowly, and I feel soothed. When I hear this song on repeat, it calms my nervous system, and I can feel a difference.

The song is “Weightless” by Marconi Union.

--

--

Anjana Rajbhandary| Insta: @AnjyRajy

*Beauty & Health Writer *Mental Health Rehabilitation Technician/Community (MHRT/C) *Chopra Center-Certified Ayurvedic Lifestyle Teacher