I’m 40, and here’s exactly what I use on my skin

That’s a picture of me in May 2023, a few days after I turned 40. Turning 40 was frightening, but it’s actually been really fun. However, if you asked a 20-year-old me how I would look and feel at 40, this is not what I was expecting. For most people, anyone older than them feels old, and younger people can seem very young- it’s just a matter of perspective.

I’ve always been very committed to skincare since I was a child. At that time, my view of aging differed significantly from how I perceive aging now. For me, getting older isn’t about the obsession of holding on to youth but maintaining the healthiest version of yourself possible, whether it is your skin or your overall health that includes your physical and mental well-being (while looking the best I can at any given age).

I grew up watching my grandmother moisturize her skin twice a day, drink a lot of water, eat fruits, and avoid direct exposure to the sun as much as possible, and she had the most beautiful skin. My mother always told me to use face creams with upward motion on her face and neck.

July 2018, when I was 35.

When I was about 8, I saw a dermatologist for the first time due to a minor sun poisoning…

--

--

Anjana Rajbhandary| Insta: @AnjyRajy

*Beauty & Health Writer *Mental Health Rehabilitation Technician/Community (MHRT/C) *Chopra Center-Certified Ayurvedic Lifestyle Teacher